Autumn Chalkboard DIY

chalkboardintroChalk  art is oh so pretty, and it’s easy to make your own for your home!
We have several chalkboards hanging around our home, and one of my favorites is the giant one hanging over my buffett. It was an old picture that was left in our house from the owners before, and I just went over the cardboard with chalkboard paint to create this big beauty!
I like to change up our boards from time to time, but this one hadn’t been changed since I first chalked it up over a year ago now! I decided it was time for something new, and have been feeling Fall-ish lately. After making this, I am ready to bring out the Fall decor and get some candy corn and peanuts! 🙂 (My favorite fall snack!)

Chalking is so simple to do, and pinterest is FULL of ideas! I like to look through quotes and other chalk ideas, then combine them to make my own. This is what my board looked like before…
chalk2I love this quote, and I think that’s why I left it up for sooooo long, but it was time for a change! The supplies I use for chalking include: a chalkboard, plain old chalk sticks (You can use chalk markers if you prefer darker lines.) a paper plate, damp paper towels, q-tips, and a dry paper towel.
chalk3First thing to do is wipe off the old saying. I take the damp towel to wash off the board, then let it air dry. Once it’s dry, you need to “season” the board! Take your chalk and wipe it all over the board in every direction. This just helps the board be prepared for chalking, and your mistakes less visible.
chalk4   chalk6
Once you’ve seasoned it, wipe it off with a dry paper towel, it’ll be a little chalky, and that’s perfect! It’s time to chalk now! 🙂 Add your own quotes and designs to make it your own! When I make little mistakes, I just take a q-tip and wipe it off. It’s not perfect, but that’s part of the beauty of chalk art, it shouldn’t be!
Like I said, it’s so simple, you can make something special for your home for any reason or any season!
chalk8I’d love to see what you create!
Happy Chalking!

Leave a Reply

